Lest we forget…

Race relations have always been close to my heart being of mixed race descent myself. I find it such a poignant time of the year with Martin Luther King Jr Day passing yesterday & Black History Month just around the corner.

I just want to take a moment to think about race relations around the world. Race is very fragile topic to discuss with many people. Unfortunately, we find ourselves in a very fragmented global society full of hatred & unrest. I think it’s time we all join hands in harmony.

Just because we may all look different, doesnt mean we feel differently. From pain to hurt and love to joy, we all feel emotions in relatively the same way. I think people are so stuck in seperatists mentality that they forget that we are all human & we all bleed the same. We are all human.

People who say “negroid” is a “different species” couldn’t be more wrong. (Someone did say that on Facebook today.) Humans are humans. We aren’t talking about cats and dogs, now are we? This makes me angry, & this is exactly what I mean when I say “separatist mentality”. 

This is exactly what MLK didn’t want. His whole “I Have A Dream..” speech was about coming together & joining hands with people from all walks of life. Doesn’t that mean that white people, black people, asian people, etc., should harmonize & erase/blur the so-called lines between the races & in society in general? Why do people continue to undermine the meaning of MLK’s actions & words by re-drawing the lines between the races? I just don’t understand why it’s so hard for everyone to move on. Moving on is not forgetting. We should never forget the struggle of the Civil Rights Movement, but re-hashing the past in the present is unneccessary & doesn’t help anyone.  Remember that we all understand the past & we all have different pasts.

By all means, be proud of who you are & where you come from, but don’t dismiss another’s history just because it’s not the same as yours or you feel that your history is worse. It’s not about that. It’s about understanding & empathizing with all people regardless of what they look like & where they come from. Just remember, we are all the same color when you turn off the light.

I could go on about this all day, but I won’t. I hope that we can eventually realize the ideals set out in the “I Have A Dream…” speech. We have a long way to go & it’s going to be hard along the way. But to be honest with you, it’ll be worth it.

“Love thy neighbor.”

Xx DeterminedCreature xX

Leave a Reply

