The Golden Rule

“Treat others the way you wish to be treated.”

At one point, parents instilled this in every one of their children. It’s a simple rule that leads to common courtesy, empathy, and overall compassion. It seems that this “golden rule” has gone AWOL in recent years.

People just aren’t as nice as they once were, in my opinion. I don’t know what happened to the people that would help an old lady cross the road or help you pick up your groceries if your bag broke. It’s those things that show that people really do want to treat others nicely because they would want someone to help them if they needed it.

I was raised in such a way that I always help others & am always courteous (for the most part). I can name numerous times that I have helped someone with directions, pick up money they have dropped in the shop, etc. I do it because, mostly, i would like someone to help me, but also because I like to see people smile. When you make someone smile, it gives you that warm feeling inside.

I can also account for many of times that I have been treated so unkindly that it has made me question why I am so kind to people. Take this last week, for example, I have been treated so unkindly by one person. It has made me so angry that I have started to be a bit mean to people. It just goes to show how much one person’s mean actions/unwillingness to help makes you feel a bit guarded and feel that you want to look out for number one first & foremost. I am not that sort of person, but I sure have acted like it over the past few weeks.

I have resolved that if I want to make myself better, I have to let go of what has happened in the past (recent past or otherwise) & continue to do what I have been doing my whole life, what I was raised to be like (thanks Mom & Dad). That’s to treat others the way I wish to be treated, regardless of how they treat me. It is hard because this unkind/unfriendly situation is still ongoing, but I am going to try my hardest not to let it affect me as much as it has done. I might not be able to take it with a pinch of salt, but I will try. Hopefully, tomorrow will be better.

Smile & keep smiling. Treat others kindly & you will reap the benefits.

Xx Determined Creature xX

One thought on “The Golden Rule

Leave a Reply

