Music is Power

Don’t you think it’s amazing how a song can change your mood? I mean, you could be having the worst day ever & a song can blast through the speakers or your ear phones, & you are singing along (whether literally or in your head) & that song just speaks to you, with its lyrics emulating how you are feeling at that exact moment. I think that’s an amazing thing. For me, right now, that song is “Words” by Train.

“Words, they’ll try to shake you//Don’t let them break you//Or stop your world from turning//When words stop you from feeling good//Use them as firewood//And let ‘em burn”

Music is just an amazing thing. It has helped me through the worst times & it’s been there when I have been celebrating, too. Music seems such a personal thing, & it’s as though people interpret what songs mean in so many different ways. Different people hear music & lyrics differently. It’s so emotive, so personal, & can make you feel so strong.

Music has been there like that old friend when I really needed them. Recently, I have been listening to a lot of music. It’s been an amazing trip down memory lane.

Different songs remind me of different people & different situations…

Kirk Franklin – “The Reason Why I Sing” 1996, the first time I ever heard my dad sing.

KCi & JoJo – “All My Life”  1997-2000. Wow…first ever boyfriend stuff…

Fred Hammond – “Purpose By Design” Summer 2002, Six Flags… lots of memories.

Train – “Calling All Angels”  Summer 2005 when I got my first proper job.

Jimmy Eat World – “Futures” Album. Sophomore year. First time I was really in love in high school.

Usher – “Yeah”  Sophomore/Junior Year. It was mine & my friend Anna’s song when we were travelling to the mall.

Fall Out Boy – “From Under the Cork Tree” Album Senior Year 2006. Helped me get through one of the toughest years of my life.

Coldplay – “Yellow” Junior Year Journalism class… what fun!

Corinne Bailey Rae – “Like A Star” Freshman year of College. The crux of what was me & the unnamed.

The Waterboys – “Whole of the Moon”  Summer 2006. Reminds me of my momma as this is her favourite song ever!!!

See what I mean?… I could go on & on about songs that remind me of people or situations. Music is a special thing that is such a personal experience.

I challenge you to think of a song that reminds you of me.

Xx Determined Creature xX

Leave a Reply

