Stepping Stones

I was talking to a friend of mine via Skype yesterday and it just makes you realise how much it feels as though you are regressing every time you have to move home. I moved back in with my mom a little while ago.

I’m lucky because my mom and I get on like a house on fire most of the time. It’s like living with a mate, except having to check in and tell her where you are going. But you’d do that anyway if you were living with other people, wouldn’t you?

My friend was saying how she felt like she was lost and felt like she had no place that was really like home. And it seems to be that this sentiment is running wild amongst my group of friends at the moment. Maybe it’s because we are all in our early to mid-twenties? I don’t know. It’s sort of the identity crisis that we all face when we hit the twenties.

Everyone goes through the whole “I don’t know what I want from life”, “I don’t know who I am”, “I don’t know where I’m headed” thing. It’s completely normal. We all have that awkward stage where we don’t know what way is up or down when it comes to knowing what we want from life. But we are only in our twenties. We have our whole lives to figure out what we want from it. And the last thing we should be doing is dwelling on things that are beyond our control.

Life is for living. We should think about life as a series of Stepping Stones. If we feel like we are regressing – having to move back in with our parents – or not really achieving our potential, then we should remember that we are only in our twenties and thirty is just around the corner.

We all stumble. It’s only natural. We must endeavour to surround ourselves with people that are positive about life. Have those friends that you can talk to about anything and that won’t judge you when you do. It’s all about how you approach life. Making ourselves miserable because we have had to “regress” isn’t healthy; nor is wishing our life away! Our twenties should be a time of self-discovery; a time where we can work on ourselves, figure out who we are and where we are going. Then, things will just fall into place and we will hop over those stepping stones to the other side of the river. I think this is the best way to approach our twenties. Who’s with me?

Xx Determined Creature xX

One thought on “Stepping Stones

Leave a Reply

